Recipe of the Week – 11th January 2016 – Raw New Year Salad

  
I love kitchen gadgets. For Christmas this year my wife Sue got me a ‘Spiralizer’, which basically finely shreds pretty much anything. I thought I would try some experimental cookery with it, and this is the result. I have been craving vitamins again after over-indulging, and in true New Year’s Resolution style, I am intending to eat very healthily whenever I can. I still couldn’t resist putting some fried Quorn in though!

Serves 4

Ingredients

2 large carrots, peeled

2 large courgettes, trimmed

2 large cooked beetroots

200g Quorn fillets, diced

2 tbs extra virgin olive oil

1 tbs sumac

2 wholemeal pitta breads, toasted

100g cashew nuts

Small handful of fresh coriander, roughly chopped

2 tbs lemon juice

Method

1. Spiralize or shred the carrots, courgettes and beetroot in a large bowl. Sprinkle with the lemon juice and chill in the fridge for 10 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, add the olive oil to a large frying pan and add the Quorn fillets and cashew nuts then sprinkle over the sumac. Fry gently for 5 minutes, stirring regularly. Cut the pittas into large squares and add to the mixture.

3. Add the Quorn fillets, cashew nuts and pittas to the raw vegetables, add the fresh coriander, mix well and serve.

Leave a Reply

