Recipe of the Week – 27th January 2014 – Vegan Chocolate Brownies

20140127-103245.jpg

Since I opened my cafe last October I have had a fair bit of demand for vegan cakes and puddings. This is an area that I have always felt a bit deficient in, until it was suggested that I try a vegan version of the traditional chocolate brownie recipe. After much research and experimentation I came up with this one. The only problem was my children ate a fair few before I could get round to selling them!

Makes 12 – 16

Ingredients

250g plain flour
80g dark cocoa powder
375g light brown or Demerara sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract (I used almond extract, which worked really well)
275ml vegetable or sunflower oil
250ml water

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 180C.

2. Stir together the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl until combined then pour in the oil, water and vanilla or almond extract and mix well.

3. Pour the mixture into a large deep baking tin and bake for 30 minutes until the top is no longer shiny. Cool for 10 minutes before cutting into squares.

One thought on “Recipe of the Week – 27th January 2014 – Vegan Chocolate Brownies

Leave a Reply

