Moist Vegan Coconut Cake

20130704-170215.jpg
If there’s one area which I know I need more experience in, particularly as I’m on the verge of opening a veggie eatery, it’s vegan cakes and puds. I don’t know why but the concept of making cakes without eggs or butter worried me, but it appears that there was no reason for concern, as it seems vegan desserts can be easier than standard ones. This is a variation on a recipe that I have tried at the Topaz Cafe in Ashton – it seems to be completely idiot proof, and I should know!

Ingredients

250g self raising flour
250g caster sugar
250g desiccated coconut (or 125g desiccated, 125g fresh grated, which I used)
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
400ml coconut milk

Method

1. Pre heat the oven to 180C and grease and line a loaf tin.
2. Mix all of the ingredients thoroughly in a large bowl and pour into the tin.
3. Allow to bake until light brown on the top (approx 40 mins), then allow to cool before turning out.
4. That’s it!

8 thoughts on “Moist Vegan Coconut Cake

  1. Penniless Veggie

    Looks fabulous! I bet this one would sell well at Pulse Cafe! Smart move to try making your sweets suitable for vegans. If you need another good vegan cake, I’d try Lemon Drizzle Cake, so tasty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

