The Road to Pulse Cafe – Part 1

This is the first in an occasional series of blogs I wanted to do charting the (hopefully!) successful course towards setting up my own vegetarian cafe business. As you will have noticed I have already acquired the domain name of Pulse Cafe, but have not done a lot else.

As a bit of background, opening my own business relating to the cooking and selling a vegetarian food is something that I have wanted to do for a very long time. By career I have been a Chartered Building Surveyor for 20 years, however on the birth of my second child I decided to have a career break to look after her until she went to school. During the course of this I decided that actually a complete career change is actually something that I wanted and have been progressing towards this.

20130422-100423.jpg
Me, by the aforementioned 3 year old (apologies for the quality!)

Now that Jasmine is going to be going to school in September I have decided to move things up a notch and start actively looking to turn to dream into reality. For the past four months I have been volunteering at the Topaz cafe in Ashton-under-Lyne which is a great vegetarian cafe run in affiliation with Mind, the mental health charity. This has provided me with loads of really good experience and also made me realise that even with a modest number of customers I will struggle to cope as a one-man operation!

In a moment of clarity I realised that if I was looking to seek help in any future business it would be best to do so with somebody that I already know and trust. As a result I contacted my friend Adam who I have known for over 30 years and is currently unemployed in South Wales and a also a committed vegetarian and weird music lover like myself. After a number of conversations it transpired that Adam was also very enthusiastic about the idea, and that it would make sense if he relocated to the Northwest, which is happening in June.

The only not-so-minor issue is that I will be bankrolling this venture by the sale of my previous house, that hasn’t occurred yet, however hopefully the housing market will pick up and things will move forward without having to go cap in hand to Mr Bank Manager!

I hope you have enjoyed this break from my usual postings of food, and I will hopefully be providing Part Two of this adventure soon. Any input and/or advice regarding the setting up of a new business would be very much gratefully received.

Speak to you soon.

Paul

2 thoughts on “The Road to Pulse Cafe – Part 1

Leave a Reply

